Experience of giving a slide lecture

1 12 2010

Following on from recent additional research, as well as some of the themes covered in my paper at the CHArt annual conference (11th November 2010), I wanted to actually experience creating and giving a slide lecture, and so I did this on 23rd November.

Notes and observations on giving a slide lecture

  • It is starting to be something a bit different, i.e. although I used slides on a couple of occasions as a student, there is a whole terminology and set-up to learn e.g. where are the slides kept? what are the terms of access?
  • The slide collection has to be physically visited; it made me realise how used I am to accessing virtual collections online any time I wanted.
  • As I discussed in my CHArt paper, each slide collection has its own idiosyncratic method of organisation, normally based on the academics who made requests to build up the collection in the first place.
  • The physical engagement with slide cabinets, pockets of slides, and other associated paraphernalia, is missing from the digital dialogue. I didn’t realise I missed this until I was choosing the slides and actually quite enjoying the immersive process, as opposed to frantically searching online in a much more distracting online environment than the physical Library.
  • After my slide lecture I had a few comments about the ‘nice images’, and although I couldn’t comment on the learning experience, certainly there is something to be said for the visual experience, and even the performative aspects of the slide projector.
  • Unfortunately the process did require a lot of effort on my part i.e. emails to locate the slides, time to choose them (i.e. because they were monographically organised and I wanted ‘themes’), and emails and phone calls to arrange the projection equipment in the room. I am not planning to use them again.
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

